April 21, 2015

Ratcliffe College

iPad Training

EY and KS1 Prezi and slides

EY and KS1 Padlet wall (first half)

KS2 Prezi and slides

KS2 Padlet wall

Grid of apps

Progression Pathways – CAS; Rising Stars

Makewaves Badges

Quickstart Computing

Taking a screenshot on iPad

EY and KS1 – Apps used during first half – 

– Shadow Puppet Edu – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/shadow-puppet-edu/id888504640?mt=8

– Pic Collage – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/pic-collage-photo-editor-templates/id448639966?mt=8

– Pirate Treasure Hunt: Eight Challenges – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/pirate-treasure-hunt-eight/id392208108?mt=8

– abc Pocket Phonics Lite – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/abc-pocketphonics-lite/id302689971?mt=8

– Sentence Builder Free – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/sentence-builder-free-for/id512928918?mt=8 

– Penguin Mathematics – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/penguin-mathematics/id452948750?mt=8

– Futaba Word Games – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/word-games-for-kids-futaba/id426517722?mt=8

– What time is it Mr Wolf – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/what-time-is-it-mr.-wolf-fun/id537508307?mt=8

EY and KS1 – Apps used during second half – 

– Explain Everything – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/explain-everything-interactive/id431493086?mt=8

– What time is it Mr Wolf (different app to above) – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/what-time-is-it-mr.-wolf-by/id514350448?mt=8

– Forest Phonics – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/forest-phonics/id581746397?mt=8

– Futaba Classroom Games – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/futaba-classroom-games-for/id487979995?mt=8

EY and KS1 – Paid for apps mentioned – 

– Explain Everything – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/explain-everything-interactive/id431493086?mt=8

– What time is it Mr Wolf (different app to above) – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/what-time-is-it-mr.-wolf-by/id514350448?mt=8

– Forest Phonics – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/forest-phonics/id581746397?mt=8

– Futaba Classroom Games – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/futaba-classroom-games-for/id487979995?mt=8

KS2 – Apps used during first half – 

KS2 – Apps used during second half – 

KS2 – Paid for apps mentioned – 

 

New computing curriculum training

New Computing National Curriculum – click here

Session 1 Prezi and slides

Session 2 Prezi and slides

Session 1

iPad apps – Daisy the Dinosaur; Cato’s Hike; Move the Turtle; Light bot; Bee Bot; Hopscotch; Cargo-Bot; Kodable; Scratch Jr; ALEX; Gamepress; Hakitzu

Web apps – Light bot; Turtle Academy Playground

Switched on Computing – Apps for each unit

Session 2

Scratch v2 (online version) – click here (click on “Create” to begin coding!)

Programming with Scratch booklet v2 (PDF)

Task 4 backdrop – save the image below to your computer…

Activity4backdrop

 

FlowGo / Go control Flowol Tasks

Kodu Game Lab User guide

Appshed (you’ll need to create a free account)

Touch Develop (you’ll need to create a free account)

Progression and schemes of work

Rising Stars – Switched on Computing website; Five steps to success; Progression of skills and knowledge across primary school

The ICT service website also gives good examples of progression for each theme, should certain units be unsuitable (click on “Key documents”)

Other examples

Progression in skill for the whole Computing curriculum can be found here – progression_in_skill (PDF), which is taken from the Computing at School / NAACE guidance here

With regards to programming technologies, progression could follow the example here – Progression in programming skill (PDF), with detailed further guidance on the whole curriculum in the scheme of work available from this site here (website). An alternative implementation can be found here – Progression in programming skill alternative (PDF)

An entire scheme of work, covering all areas of the Computing Curriculum, can be found here (website) from Somerset CC.

Details of how programming might be included within the Foundation stage can be found here – Programming within the Foundation Stage (PDF)

Other websites containing resources / schemes of work include:

Primary Computing website

Code-it website

“Primary Pete” computing curriculum site

Espresso coding

Other technologies to look at

Prezi

Quadblogging

iMovie or Windows Movie Maker

Book Creator